Explore GameReplays...

Company of Heroes

Pio spam 3.0

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1charliesshortt Jul 7 2008, 17:48 PM
Basically this strat has its roots in Zerocrack sucking. Prior to the tournament Zerocrack and I started practicing and attempting to think up unbeatable strats(rather unsuccessfully) for the tournament. After the first week of play Zerocrack was getting perilously close to Iaguz in the brackets and we both knew that Zerocracks axis play wasn’t going to be able to compete with Iaguz’s usa play. And that would most likely give Iaguz the vp advantage he needed to win. That’s where piospam came in, obviously 1.6 piospam wasn’t going to work. The trick was to maximize piospams strength and minimize its weaknesses. Something that is actually a lot easier to do that I first thought.

What this strat requires:
- decent start: the punch this strat has doesn’t kick in until the midgame from t2 on basically so if you suck at the early game this strat isn’t going to help you
- micro: gone are the days of just blobbing pios and clicking once in one direction. You actually need to control more than 1 control group with this strat because if your pios are unsupported they can be torn to pieces
- decent predictions: you need to be able to relatively predict when tanks, armoured cars and what not will appear on the field and be able to adapt your build order to what you see.
- Counter sniping: I guarantee if yo do this strat more than once you’ll see snipers and if you cant deal with them your going to be in trouble.

Build order: This is my recommended build order that I do, but do whatever you are comfortable with. I recommend 2 mgs though just because your going to be buying support vet and they benefit a lot from this. Make sure you save your munitions don’t spend them on anything unless absolutely necessary.

Attached Imagex2 Attached Imagex1Attached Image x1Attached Image x1Attached Image x1 Attached Image