Explore GameReplays...

Red Alert 3

Resolution 2560 x 1080

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1Maniek Jun 21 2020, 14:08 PM
Hi Guys,
Just quick question, does RA3 support 2560 x 1080 resolution?
Thanks

Posts: 6,374

Game: Battlefield 3


+
# 2Constable Chris Jun 21 2020, 16:40 PM
I cannot give a 100% certain answer, but since the game was developed in a period where anything more than 1920 x 1080 didn't even exist (1440P came out in 2013, which I know is not the resolution you are asking for, but still), I highly doubt the game supports any resolution beyond 1920x1080. The game is designed to handle anything up to 1080p. Nothing more.

This would only be possible by updating the game or the engine to modern standards, which obviously isn't going to happen.

Therefore the apparent answer is no.

Posts: 1,909

Clan: H2O

Game: Red Alert 3


+
# 3az5284 Jun 21 2020, 18:21 PM
it does support


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image

Posts: 25


+
# 4Constable Chris Jun 21 2020, 18:26 PM
The option may appear in the menu but the game itself is probably still running at 1080p. I may be wrong though.

Posts: 1,909

Clan: H2O

Game: Red Alert 3


+
# 5cwedvin Jun 21 2020, 21:22 PM
Remember you can always go in the files and change it manually.

if you want help with that, let me know and ill get you in contact with one of my fellow tech support staffers.

Posts: 2,030

Clan: Cant win

Game: Red Alert 3


+
# 6Maniek Jun 21 2020, 21:32 PM
Thanks for you answers, guys.
@az5284, 2560x1440 resolution is actually a 16:9 aspect ratio.
I'm looking for games which support 21:9 aspect ratio. Using ultrawide display to run games on 1920 x 1080 is very uncomfortable.

QUOTE(cwedvin @ Jun 21 2020, 21:22 PM) *

Remember you can always go in the files and change it manually.

if you want help with that, let me know and ill get you in contact with one of my fellow tech support staffers.

So it is possible? I consider rebuing RA3, but I would want to make sure first. I have reviewed google regarding to ultrawide support of RA3/CnC3 but I couldn't find much post-13661-1143531603.gif

Can someone confirm please? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Maniek: Jun 21 2020, 21:37 PM

Posts: 6,374

Game: Battlefield 3


+
# 7cwedvin Jun 21 2020, 21:45 PM
QUOTE(Maniek @ Jun 21 2020, 21:32 PM) *

Thanks for you answers, guys.
@az5284, 2560x1440 resolution is actually a 16:9 aspect ratio.
I'm looking for games which support 21:9 aspect ratio. Using ultrawide display to run games on 1920 x 1080 is very uncomfortable.
So it is possible? I consider rebuing RA3, but I would want to make sure first. I have reviewed google regarding to ultrawide support of RA3/CnC3 but I couldn't find much post-13661-1143531603.gif

Can someone confirm please? smile.gif


I have linked Medstar to this topic.

When he gets some spare time he should be able to give you a proper answer.

Posts: 2,030

Clan: Cant win

Game: Red Alert 3


+
# 8Medstar Jun 22 2020, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(cwedvin @ Jun 21 2020, 15:22 PM) *

Remember you can always go in the files and change it manually.

if you want help with that, let me know and ill get you in contact with one of my fellow tech support staffers.


You could do that, or you can force the resolution through CLI parameters--does the same as editing the files, but is more useful/easier (IMO) if you tend to use a shortcut to launch RA3. I will detail the steps for both below:

For shortcut method:
1) Make a new shortcut or use an existing shortcut to RA3.exe
2) Right click the shortcut and press Properties
3) In the "Target" field, at the very end of whatever filepath is already there (quotes including), put -xres 2560 -yres 1080 or whatever resolution you desire.

For example: Target: "C:/Users/USER/Games/Red Alert 3/RA3.exe" -xres 2560 -yres 1080

If you've messed with adding the -ui parameter before, the -xres and -yres parameters work the same way/are placed the same way.

4) Apply the changes you made to the shortcut's properties and close the Properties window.
5) Launch the game through the shortcut.


For file-editing method (more permanent):
1) Open File Explorer and navigate to %appdata%\Red Alert 3\Profiles\YOUR_PROFILE_NAME
2) In the directory from step 1, open the file named Options.ini with notepad or some equivalent to it
3) Edit the line that contains the Resolution value to match your desired resolution.

Example:
Before Edit: Resolution = 1024 768
After Edit: Resolution = 2560 1080

4) Save the Options.ini file after editing.
5) Run the game normally, either through a shortcut or directly from RA3.exe

With either of these methods, you may/may not notice that the main menu is really stretched out--this is due to the provided resolution not technically being supported by the game. However, once you get into a match, the UI should be fine throughout the duration of the match.

If either of the above two methods don't work for you, then I suggest trying a third party software such as Flawless Widescreen.

Hope this helps biggrin.gif

Posts: 2

Game: Command and Conquer 3


+
# 9Maniek Jun 22 2020, 08:35 AM
@Up
Grate news.
I will definitely try one of these, thanks a mill smile.gif

Posts: 6,374

Game: Battlefield 3


+
# 10LordFlameheart Jun 23 2020, 09:41 AM
The ratio does exist, but the resolution isn't going higher than 1080P (by the time the game was made 1080p+ resolutions doesnt even exist). You can certainly have a bigger scale of view under 2560x1440 but it ain't detail any better than 1080P.

Posts: 1,163

Game: Kanes Wrath


+
# 11Squaggle Jun 23 2020, 15:35 PM
Wouldn't changing the res higher than what it supports result in an awkward zoomed in camera view?

I'm not familiar with RA3 as much as I am ZH so forgive me if I'm mistaken. This is how it is over there without GenTool camera fix.

Posts: 6,395

Clan: Casters & Co.

Game: None


+
# 12Maniek Jun 23 2020, 19:36 PM
QUOTE(LordFlameheart @ Jun 23 2020, 09:41 AM) *

The ratio does exist, but the resolution isn't going higher than 1080P (by the time the game was made 1080p+ resolutions doesnt even exist).


Tiberian Sun from 1999 does it all

https://i.paste.pics/865f9976968598e35a8a25...5346216f26d807d

Posts: 6,374

Game: Battlefield 3


+
# 13ViperMkVII Jul 10 2020, 19:34 PM
This resolution is supported by RA3, because DirectX isn't limited to any specific aspect ratio. Technically any resolution / aspect ratio will work.
But even if DirectX (9) supports it, RA3's developers never considered this kind of aspect ratio. So if you launch your game in 21:9 aspect ratio, you will have a camera with a very limited field of view - something like when you're playing with 4:3, or even worse.

Keep in mind that as for current fair play rule, it's not allowed (in competitive games) to use "camera hacks" to increase your camera's field of view and "see more".
But if you are not playing competitively, you can always create your own custom maps, and (in RA3 map editor's map settings) adjust the camera's field of view as you want.

Posts: 1,568

Game: Red Alert 3


+

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)