Explore GameReplays...

Red Alert 3

Where/How to play RA3 these days?

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1avilo Dec 22 2018, 14:34 PM
Just installed the game again, can someone give me the most succinct information for how and where to play RA3 multiplayer ever since the gamespy/official server have been down?



Posts: 8,431

Game: StarCraft 2


+
# 2ViperMkVII Dec 22 2018, 14:54 PM
https://cnc-online.net

Posts: 1,544

Game: Red Alert 3


+
# 3avilo Dec 22 2018, 19:30 PM
So DL CnC online? Then launch RA3 with it? It gives me "CA public key patching routine failed"

RA3 also apparently won't launch. lmao, How much do you have to do to simply be able to play 1 game

This post has been edited by avilo: Dec 22 2018, 19:50 PM



Posts: 8,431

Game: StarCraft 2


+
# 4zokker13 Dec 22 2018, 20:11 PM
It failed for me the other day, too but I managed to play just fine. Perhaps give it a try.

Posts: 4,330

Game: None


+
# 5avilo Dec 22 2018, 20:15 PM
My game won't even start now lmao.



Posts: 8,431

Game: StarCraft 2


+
# 6avilo Dec 22 2018, 20:32 PM
Using the CnC Online launcher just closes RA3 and nothing happens.



Posts: 8,431

Game: StarCraft 2


+
# 7avilo Dec 22 2018, 21:46 PM
nvm i managed to play 2-3 games, too much interface lag for some reason, units don't respond, and half the time the game crashes or locks out of everything xD



Posts: 8,431

Game: StarCraft 2


+
# 8Thanatos Dec 23 2018, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(avilo @ Dec 23 2018, 07:46 AM) *

nvm i managed to play 2-3 games, too much interface lag for some reason, units don't respond, and half the time the game crashes or locks out of everything xD


try Kanes Wrath instead smile.gif

Posts: 2,504

Game: Kanes Wrath


+
# 9theconqueror92 Dec 23 2018, 13:17 PM
TamTam 1 Avilo 0

Posts: 2


+
# 10avilo Dec 25 2018, 14:49 PM
The game is still fun from the games i played. It's obvious to see how dated the game is though, the interface delay, and such, and of course no official servers...

Someone from RA3 here on GR should try to get into contact with the EA guys/Jim Vessela and see if they would ever consider re-mastering Red Alert 3 like they are going to do for some of the older CnC games.

It pains me to imagine how much bigger and the untapped potential that exists with RA3/CnC3 if there was official support for these games.



Posts: 8,431

Game: StarCraft 2


+
# 11ViperMkVII Dec 25 2018, 18:44 PM
QUOTE(avilo @ Dec 22 2018, 23:46 PM) *

nvm i managed to play 2-3 games, too much interface lag for some reason, units don't respond, and half the time the game crashes or locks out of everything xD

It might be because your opponent lags with you. This can vary on each different player you met, try to play more games with different peoples, it might goes better tongue.gif

And, in case you don't know, if you tried to log in with your old GameSpy nicknames and you've been told that "those nicknames are already taken" (or some other kind of error messages), it means you need to reclaim your old smurfs here:
https://forums.revora.net/forum/2732-member-management/

Posts: 1,544

Game: Red Alert 3


+
# 12zokker13 Dec 25 2018, 22:57 PM
QUOTE(ViperMkVII @ Dec 25 2018, 19:44 PM) *

It might be because your opponent lags with you. This can vary on each different player you met, try to play more games with different peoples, it might goes better tongue.gif


No, it's because the technology used in the game was dated even before release. Interface lag is very real and has nothing to do with online experience. Of course you would only know that if you'd be playing other games that don't have the issue.
This becomes very obvious when you play SC2. There is no comparison between RA3 and SC2 input wise.
It's probably because of the shitty SAGE engine. That pile of shit never did anything good and was doomed from the start.

Posts: 4,330

Game: None


+

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)