Explore GameReplays...

CNC Zero Hour

Video Graphics card Benchmarks with

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1|^|AP|^|AN Aug 16 2005, 04:10 AM
The minimum card you should buy today for Generals online is:
ATi X700
ATi 9500 PRO
ATi X1600
NV FX5700
NV 6600 GT

The best price/performance for PCI-E is a NV 6800GS and for AGP, it can be software hacked to a GT.

2006 Interactive video card benchmarks.


Anandtech Zero Hour benchmarks of the same era.

Xbit labs Zero Hour Benchmarks with modern cards.


Note: Most Dells and other "big box" computers and portables ship with a MX440, MX4000, FX5200, or ATi X300 performance class card by default. None of these cards are enough to play online unless you limit yourself to 1v1 games. Don't consider playing larger games online unless you upgrade to a better graphics card. Also, limit resolution based on the benchmarks.

Here is a nice AMD vs. Intel CPU Benchmark with DS2

This latest Act of War benchmark is compared to Generals.

Table of the Graphics cards with GPU and stats.

The latest Integrated Motherboard Graphics don't perform well with Generals. Just say NO!

Is AGP slower than PCI-e? Here is a new motherboard with both type slots to test. I own this board with a Opteron 170 and ATi AGP x800


AGP vs PCI-e 4x on a Intel Core 2 Duo motherboard.
"Our results confirm that there is not a throughput performance penalty for using AGP over PCI Express on the ASRock 775Dual-VSTA. In fact, just the opposite is true in this case as our AGP graphics cards consistently scored better than their PCI-E counterparts. This is attributable to the PCI Express Graphics slot being limited to X4 operation at the upper resolutions and the slight overhead penalty incurred due to the VIA chipset design. However, the performance of the PCI Express slot is not that bad with the worst penalty being around 5%. (Pairing the motherboard with a top end GPU results in performance that is up to 10% slower than competing motherboards, but it is unlikely anyone would be looking to purchase a $300+ GPU to use with a $50 motherboard.) If you have either an AGP or midrange PCI Express card then this board will handle both in a more than acceptable manner with today's applications."

Hard drive benchmarks with Generals:

IPB Image

This post has been edited by |^|AP|^|AN: Mar 13 2007, 18:02 PM

Posts: 564

Game: Supreme Commander


+
# 2Sparks Aug 17 2005, 06:50 AM
thanks for that smile.gif

Posts: 1,257

Game: Hardware


+
# 3Venganz Aug 25 2005, 20:30 PM
glad this was here

Posts: 661

Clan: -FaKe|

Game: Age of Empires 3


+
# 4Arson Aug 25 2005, 20:34 PM
I hate to ask stupid questions...but what is a benchmark?

Posts: 3,818

Clan: -FaKe|

Game: Battlefield 2


+
# 5|^|AP|^|AN Aug 26 2005, 07:15 AM
A standard by which something can be measured or judged.

Posts: 564

Game: Supreme Commander


+
# 6Teh Ponderer Jun 20 2006, 03:12 AM
QUOTE(|^|AP|^|AN @ Aug 16 2005, 06:10 AM) *

The minimum card you should buy today for Generals online is:
ATi X700
ATi 9500 PRO
ATi X1600
NV FX5700
NV 6600 GT


I just got it, and Zero Hour still gives me a "serious error" message sad.gif . The funny part is that now even the No-CD launcher crashes... Is it still about the video card? Help!

P.S. Generals works fine.

Posts: 38


+
# 7subroutine Jun 20 2006, 06:32 AM
QUOTE(Teh Ponderer @ Jun 20 2006, 04:12 AM) *

I just got it, and Zero Hour still gives me a "serious error" message sad.gif . The funny part is that now even the No-CD launcher crashes... Is it still about the video card? Help!

P.S. Generals works fine.


Have you got a legal copy of the game ?. Try the following..........


Try deleting the options.ini located here.........

D:\Documents and Settings\***computer name***\My Documents\Command and Conquer Generals Zero Hour Data

To see this file.........

Click Start.

Open My Computer.

Select the Tools menu and click Folder Options.

Select the View Tab.

Under the Hidden files and folders heading select Show hidden files and folders.

Uncheck the Hide protected operating system files option.

Click Yes to confirm.

Click OK.

Posts: 19,272

Clan: GameReplays.org

Game: Forged Battalion


+
# 8Teh Ponderer Jun 20 2006, 16:51 PM
Now it waits a while before showing the error eyebrow.gif Anyway, I found a bunch of files with the following text in the same folder:

"Release Crash at Tue Jun 20 18:39:22 2006
; Reason Error parsing INI file 'Data\INI\Object\airforcegeneral.ini' (Line: 'Object AirF_AmericaTankAvenger ')"

Is this helpful?

Posts: 38


+
# 9subroutine Jun 20 2006, 18:59 PM
QUOTE(Teh Ponderer @ Jun 20 2006, 05:51 PM) *

Now it waits a while before showing the error eyebrow.gif Anyway, I found a bunch of files with the following text in the same folder:

"Release Crash at Tue Jun 20 18:39:22 2006
; Reason Error parsing INI file 'Data\INI\Object\airforcegeneral.ini' (Line: 'Object AirF_AmericaTankAvenger ')"

Is this helpful?



You haven't said if your copy of the game is legal but I suggest you reinstall the game and don't use the nocd patch as this is probably the cause of your problems.

Posts: 19,272

Clan: GameReplays.org

Game: Forged Battalion


+
# 10Teh Ponderer Jun 21 2006, 03:23 AM
Apparently, a mod I had installed on Generals was causing it. I reinstalled both, and it works now, thanks so much! wub.gif

QUOTE(subroutine @ Jun 20 2006, 08:59 PM) *

You haven't said if your copy of the game is legal


Doesn't matter now, does it? laugh.gif

Posts: 38


+
# 11TrAiN^WrEcK Jul 19 2006, 17:34 PM
i have a radeon x200 ;p i play 3v3 and 2v2 on medium setings, but theirs no lag at all. so i think thats off a bit..

Posts: 1,953

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 12|^|AP|^|AN Aug 15 2006, 11:19 AM
The lagger cant tell he lags. The other computers wait on him and show a variety of lag symptoms. If you are playing 1v1 games with lower unit counts you will have less problems. Play a replay with your current card and then replace it with a $200 card. You will notice how much faster the workers run. In an ideal situation where everyone has a good card your 3v3 game should run nearly as fast as your replay. A game running at this speed is nothing like the games you are used to. Money is harvested much faster than you can build.

This post has been edited by |^|AP|^|AN: Aug 15 2006, 11:30 AM

Posts: 564

Game: Supreme Commander


+
# 13xezon Aug 15 2006, 11:50 AM
A good example is that Goose guy. His Graphic card is so bad, that the game slows down extremly! But i think he doesn't even notice it, because it is, what he think, a normal speed for the game. And that is the problem of convincing a player that they have bad graphics. They think they aren't a lagger and you just want to insult them or something.

0wn3d.gif

Posts: 18,511

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 14^Red^ Sep 8 2006, 06:45 AM
U are wrong.. U can play the with radeon 9200 or even geforce 2 mx 400 tbh. I have played with that card biggrin.gif It worked fine. Just nerf all settings.

Posts: 559

Game: Company of Heroes


+
# 15|^|AP|^|AN Mar 13 2007, 17:50 PM
A 9200 and mx400 will lag badly in a team game. Read the benchmarks.

Posts: 564

Game: Supreme Commander


+
# 16EcKo* Mar 13 2007, 18:51 PM
I have a radeon 9520 PCI and team games run fine!! And this is on ZH!!

This post has been edited by ^BaKeD: Mar 13 2007, 18:52 PM

Posts: 415

Clan: -MaD|

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 17Simba Mar 16 2007, 21:06 PM
erm...you do lag slighty baked post-13661-1143531603.gif

Posts: 16,516

Game: Heroes of Newerth


+
# 18CheeKy` Mar 18 2007, 16:45 PM
lol Pwned. When I play vs comps and put speed on fast I cant even click my units normal anymore

Posts: 10,245

Clan: Teh Memberz

Game: None


+

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)