Explore GameReplays...

CNC Zero Hour

Black screen BUG

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1OlegBB Oct 14 2019, 07:36 AM
Hello

While playing generals solo ( with PC ) on screen resolution 2560*1440 (2k) and if i look at place where a lot of unit i got black game screen ( see attached file ) . i can move screen to empty place and view will be back to normal. IF i repeat and move screen to place where many units it became black again while concentration unit on this place not decrease : (

i tried with minimal setting but with resolution 2560*1440 (2k) - same result

but on full HD 1920*1080 with max settings can not reproduce this BUG.


Could you plesae investigate and help


Windows 10 x 64 , i7 3770, 32 GB , 1050ti
Gentool 7.8 (same on 7.7)


Thanks


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image

Posts: 7


+
# 2xezon Oct 14 2019, 10:19 AM
Hello.

I have not seen this problem myself and I don't know the cause of it. You might want to try different settings in your Game graphics options and Graphics driver options (NVIDIA or AMD). Please reply here with your solution once you found the cause.

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 3Leikeze Oct 14 2019, 13:03 PM
Have you tried disabling heat effects?

Many players experience a black screen when viewing Microwave tanks on Win10 until they disable heat effects in graphics options.

Posts: 29,522

Clan: Master of Death

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 4OlegBB Oct 14 2019, 18:28 PM
Yes , i tried disabled all effects .

i did not change any setting on my nvidia card .

I playing now on full hd only 1920*1080 - have not seen problem yet .
But on resolution 2560*1440 (2k) - very often (also with disabled effects )

Posts: 7


+
# 5Leikeze Oct 15 2019, 00:27 AM
Does your setup necessitate running ZH at 2560*1440 (2k) screen resolution?

Posts: 29,522

Clan: Master of Death

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 6OlegBB Oct 15 2019, 07:10 AM
no it is not necessitate but if game provide this option why not ? smile.gif

Posts: 7


+
# 7Leikeze Oct 15 2019, 11:57 AM
That is my thinking as well.

Have there been any changes to software or hardware since you began playing ZH, prior to this bug appearing?

Posts: 29,522

Clan: Master of Death

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 8xezon Oct 15 2019, 19:53 PM
Uh guess what...

Attached Image

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 9Leikeze Oct 15 2019, 20:01 PM
Wow!

I also met some people complaining of black screen in GameRanger, but the issues were not all the same, as I linked them to this topic to make sure.

Posts: 29,522

Clan: Master of Death

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 10xezon Oct 15 2019, 20:30 PM
QUOTE(Leikeze @ Oct 15 2019, 22:01 PM) *

Wow!

I also met some people complaining of black screen in GameRanger, but the issues were not all the same, as I linked them to this topic to make sure.

Only happened once. I was cheating camera to higher value and then it snapped black.

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 11OlegBB Oct 17 2019, 14:43 PM
Same black screen happened on Full HD for now sad.gif . i making zoom in on camera on black screen after that back to normal . If zoom out - back to black screen and stayed with black screen due to many units on screen . So it's not related to resolution

Posts: 7


+
# 12xezon Oct 19 2019, 08:35 AM
What height did you set camera to?

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 13OlegBB Oct 21 2019, 17:35 PM
QUOTE(xezon @ Oct 19 2019, 08:35 AM) *

What height did you set camera to?


i am using default camera height . i did not change it

Posts: 7


+
# 14xezon Oct 21 2019, 18:56 PM
Ok. How often does this issue happen on your machine? Does it also happen without GenTool + high resolution + higher view?

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 15OlegBB Oct 22 2019, 06:10 AM
QUOTE(xezon @ Oct 21 2019, 18:56 PM) *

Ok. How often does this issue happen on your machine? Does it also happen without GenTool + high resolution + higher view?

as i remember game without gentool does not support resolution like full HD or higher. So i install gentool by default smile.gif . How oftern - almost every game if have on screen menu units on one place.

Posts: 7


+
# 16xezon Oct 22 2019, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(OlegBB @ Oct 22 2019, 08:10 AM) *

as i remember game without gentool does not support resolution like full HD or higher. So i install gentool by default smile.gif . How oftern - almost every game if have on screen menu units on one place.

Could you try to disable 3D Shadows in the options menu and then try again?

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 17Goldjunge Oct 22 2019, 19:15 PM
I'm not sure...does it make any difference to play or watch ZH with 2k in comparsion to Full HD ?

I think it's a Camera Issue. Because i only know this Phenomenon by Maximum Zoom In.
I would do some Experiments with the Camera Height in the Gentool Menu.
Here are also some useful Idea's.
http://www.wsgf.org/dr/command-conquer-generals








Posts: 681

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 18OlegBB Oct 28 2019, 08:26 AM
Hi all

look like i found cause off black screen issue.

It cause by "Mirowave tank" with heat effect enabled.


Once Mirowave tank spawn from warfactory screen go black even i have only this one unit on my screen.

With disabled heat effects all works good even on 2k resolution and more than 5 Mirowave tanks on screen and a lot of others units on screen and map .

Also i tested all other unit from different nations - no one provide this black screen bug , just MW tank.

Also black screen will gone after MW tanks wil be destroed


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image

Posts: 7


+
# 19xezon Oct 28 2019, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(OlegBB @ Oct 28 2019, 10:26 AM) *

It cause by "Mirowave tank" with heat effect enabled.
Once Mirowave tank spawn from warfactory screen go black even i have only this one unit on my screen.

With disabled heat effects all works good even on 2k resolution and more than 5 Mirowave tanks on screen and a lot of others units on screen and map .


Thank you Oleg. I added this information to the GenTool FAQ

Posts: 20,289

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)