Explore GameReplays...

CNC Zero Hour

Load gentool as another .dll?

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1Rupurudu! Jun 11 2018, 00:35 AM
Hello,
I recently started playing C&C Generals again after a long time. During this time, I got a new laptop. (with "switchable graphics/hybrid graphics/optimus")

I was having big FPS drops on the game with this new laptop and found out only DirectX 9 or newer can be run on Optimus card, older DirectX games run only on HD Graphics.

After looking for a solution for days, I found out d3d8to9. It basically converts DirectX 8 games to DirectX 9 by replacing game's DirectX library. (d3d8.dll)

But for some reason, GenTool uses the same .dll file, so I can't use both d3d8to9 and GenTool.

Is there any way to load both .dll files? Or can we change GenTool to use another .dll file instead?

Or maybe GenTool can integrate d3d8to9. It's source code is available on GitHub with BSD license.

Posts: 1

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 2xezon Jun 11 2018, 09:47 AM
Hello. Thanks for this info. I am currently not actively developing gentool, but i think this could be an easy change, where gentool would load the d3d8to9 dll instead of the system dll. Alternatively you could also try to place your d3d8 in system32 (effectively replacing the original)

Posts: 18,498

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 3xezon Jul 22 2018, 15:00 PM
Next GenTool version will allow for a 3rd party d3d8 dll to be loaded. GenTool remains d3d8.dll, but if you name your other file d3d8x.dll, GenTool will load that instead of the system d3d8. I tested it with the d3d8 to 9 project and it works.

https://github.com/crosire/d3d8to9/releases

This post has been edited by xezon: Jul 22 2018, 20:24 PM

Posts: 18,498

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 4-ExiLe` Jul 23 2019, 16:03 PM
So I have an d3d9 application I'd like to load (reshade) and I put this in the main installation folder of zh, then to load this I would need the d8 to d9 converter and there are 2 options to do this if I understand it correctly?
1. Is to name the converter d3d8x.dll.
2. Or use a custom name and put -proxy WHATEVERNAME.dll. in zh's shortcut.

So both times you have 3 files in the directory effectively right? gt, converter, reshade. However both options gives me a serious error. What am I doing wrong?

edit: seems to be unrelated to gentool. after uninstalling gt and naming the converter d3d8.dll it still doesn't work.

This post has been edited by -ExiLe`: Jul 23 2019, 17:30 PM

Posts: 2,188

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 5xezon Jul 23 2019, 19:24 PM
Yes basically as described here:
https://www.gamereplays.org/cnczerohour/por...amp;tab=8685941

Posts: 18,498

Clan: MENTAL

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 6-ExiLe` Jul 24 2019, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(xezon @ Jul 23 2019, 21:24 PM) *


Yep, this is where I got the information from, but I failed at making this work. Because, like I said in my edited post, it doesn't work either without gentool and loading the converter like a normal d3d8.dll. So you probably can't help me with this.

Posts: 2,188

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+

2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)