Explore GameReplays...

Rise of the Witch King

RotWK Installation & Setup Guides

Reply to this topic Start new topic
# 1Excalibur Dec 22 2012, 17:06 PM
How to install and play The Rise of the Witch-king




Install Bfme2 1.06 (optionally 1.00 and 1.09)

  1. Download and install Daemon Tools Lite

    Alternatively, you can use WinCDEmu, Alcohol 52% or 120%, or any equivalent program which works best for you. Keep an eye out for potential toolbars and other unwanted programs when installing!
     
  2. If you do not have the game already, download the clean ISO of The Battle for Middle-earth II.
    If link isn't aviable try THIS.
  3. Mount the downloaded .iso file with Daemon Tools or equivalent program (watch this YouTube video if you need help).
    Alternatively, you can burn it to a blank DVD. If you already have the original game CDs or DVD, however, you can just insert it in the DVD drive.
  4. Install the game from the now-mounted disk image. If you need a serial key, check here.
    • Antivirus programs and Google may flag this file as a virus, it's not. The keygen is perfectly safe!
  5. Install the latest patch Download and install patch 1.06 (Select the game language you installed)
    Alternativly you can download and instal Bfme2 1.09 - Switcher, that contains 1.00, 1.06 and 1.09.
    Switch to 1.06 if you want play Rotwk.

Install RotWK 2.01

  1. Make sure you have installed BFME2 as per our guide. If you haven't, check the related tab to the right of this guide. RotWK will not work on its own, as it is merely an expansion pack.
  2. If you do not have the game already, download the clean ISO of The Rise of the Witch-king.
    If link isn't aviable try THIS.
  3. Mount the downloaded .iso file with Daemon Tools or equivalent program (watch this YouTube video if you need help).
    Alternatively, you can burn it to a blank DVD. If you already have the original game DVD, however, you can just insert it in the DVD drive.
  4. Download and install patch 2.01 for your game language (use the DVD versions, unless you're still using the copy from EA Store/Origin).

If you want to play on 2.02...

  1. Download and install Patch 2.02. Choose the standard (4:3) or widescreen (16:9) version.
  2. Run the game!
  3. To play online there are 2 ways:
  4. Run the game! You will no longer need the ISO mounted, or the DVD inserted in your drive.
  5. Join to Discord Group



If you want to keep playing on previous version 2.01...

  1. Switch back from 2.02 to 2.01 via 2.02 switcher.
  2. Download the mini-image. Mount the .mds with Daemon Tools or equivalent program. Refer to the no-CD guide for further information.
  3. To play online there are 2 ways:
  4. Run the game!



Some Tips


Pointers to Bear in Mind

  • You must have BFME 2 installed in order to play RotWK.
  • You must have EA's patch 2.01 in order to play patch 2.02.
  • If you also BFME 2 version 1.09 installed, make sure you disable it in order to play 2.02. Use the 1.09 launcher to switch to patch 1.06. Having 1.09 enabled is known to cause mismatches online.
  • A game crash without any error message (the game just "stopped working")?
This zip contains RotWK's secondary, hidden directory (My Lord of the Rings, The Rise of the Witch-king) which would typically be found by searching %AppData% > Roaming. If you're experiencing a crash on start followed by no error message, you're most likely missing this directory. If not, the issue would be graphics card related in which case you would need to follow the link at the bottom of this post.

Attached File My_The_Lord_of_the_Rings__The_Rise_of_the_Witch_king_Files.zip
Size: 3.5k
Number of downloads: 4575
Player Name Side Team

How to Bypass the "No-CD" Error

    This step is not necessary when playing new 2.02 versions (6.0.0 or above).
  • If you do not own the original RotWK disc and have downloaded the game from the links above, you will need to mount a mini image in order to bypass the "no CD" error.
  • Do not crack the game as it will prevent you from playing online with other members of the community. It has also been known to cause other issues as well.
  • When mounting your disc image, make sure you extract the downloaded contents to a folder of your choice. Both files work in conjunction with each other so this step is mandatory.
  • Make sure you mount the .mds file and not the .mdf.
  • Remember to mount your mini image with SCSI as a normal mount will not always be sufficient.
  • Should you still receive the "no CD" error, and you are using Daemon Tools Lite, downgrading to an earlier version should solve your problem. Try version 4.48, it's most likely to give you no problems.
  • It is recommended that you fall back to Daemon Tools Lite (bearing in mind the aforementioned pointer) if you experience issues with the other mounting software applications.
Thanks to Mathijs for pics.

This post has been edited by Mako: Oct 4 2017, 19:06 PM


Attached File(s)
Attached File RotWk_Maxi_WIN10_images.rar
Size: 6mb
Number of downloads: 2707

Posts: 9,556

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 2MarKr Dec 23 2012, 13:35 PM
I have one question. I've been playing RotWK without a CD for like 3 years now. I used a maxi-image, Daemon and a YASU (works with Daemon to hide it's presence in the system) how does this differ from what you offer?

Posts: 14

Game: CNC Zero Hour


+
# 3Excalibur Dec 23 2012, 13:45 PM
It just works after mounting the image file. It doesn't need Yasu, at least that's how it works for me.

Posts: 9,556

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 4TheShadowEffect Dec 23 2012, 13:56 PM
QUOTE(MarKr @ Dec 23 2012, 16:35 PM) *

I have one question. I've been playing RotWK without a CD for like 3 years now. I used a maxi-image, Daemon and a YASU (works with Daemon to hide it's presence in the system) how does this differ from what you offer?

What Excal said^.I think it's so weird it has never been posted before cause it's so much more practical than carrying a cd with you every time and that cd noise is so annoying.Also the lotr2.02.cmd is pretty much useless now.The script was useful in the old days when daemon tools didn't support double clicking the image to open it.

edit:Ok i think you need both the mds and the mdf file for it to work

This post has been edited by TheShadowEffect: Dec 24 2012, 02:40 AM

Posts: 1,845

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 5I need a life Dec 23 2012, 18:11 PM
Game doesn't have nodvd or something?

Posts: 2


+
# 6TheShadowEffect Dec 23 2012, 20:24 PM
QUOTE(TPABL @ Dec 23 2012, 21:11 PM) *

Game doesn't have nodvd or something?

No the only other alternative is a crack that changes the version of the game and doesn't allow you to play online.

Posts: 1,845

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 7trucky Dec 24 2012, 22:52 PM
72 downloads !? Do 72 people even check this forum?


(Make that 73 smile.gif smile.gif thanks good ol' GR!)

Posts: 4,986

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 8Excalibur Dec 26 2012, 11:00 AM
If no one replies, that means it's working for them. Otherwise they would be here asking for help. tongue.gif

I am quite impressed though that no one bothered at least saying whether it worked or not.

This post has been edited by Excalibur: Dec 27 2012, 17:20 PM

Posts: 9,556

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 9Korvasomali Dec 27 2012, 12:57 PM
Working perfect

Posts: 5,584

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 10trucky Dec 27 2012, 18:16 PM
Did Forlong click download a hundred times to make it look like there's more people here than there actually is?

Posts: 4,986

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 11Excalibur Dec 27 2012, 19:11 PM
Good Korva! smile.gif

Impressive number of downloads, indeed. tongue.gif

Posts: 9,556

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 12AllenVarden Dec 27 2012, 21:04 PM
i kept getting this directx error :

Please make sure you have DirectX 9.0 or higher installed. Also verify that your video card meets the minimum requirements, and that you do not have hardware acceleration disabled in the Display control panel.

FYI :
I had GTX560 ti (updated) and updated the dx with dxwebsetup.
I've alrd did a dxdiag and it shows that the hardware acceleration is enabled.

It is so weird i've never been getting this error for a long time. All my games is working perfectly fine, FarCry 3, Guild Wars 2, League of Legends..and it never showed this error when i played it using crack..

I've alrd did a clean reinstall, update with 2.01,unofficial 2.02 patch and mount the image..All is fine until that error pops out -____- Any help would be deeply appreciated, me and my bro wanted to play this game for a long time T_T

This post has been edited by AllenVarden: Dec 27 2012, 21:13 PM

Posts: 2


+
# 13TheShadowEffect Dec 27 2012, 21:15 PM
QUOTE(AllenVarden @ Dec 28 2012, 00:04 AM) *

i kept getting this directx error :

Please make sure you have DirectX 9.0 or higher installed. Also verify that your video card meets the minimum requirements, and that you do not have hardware acceleration disabled in the Display control panel.

FYI :
I had GTX560 ti (updated) and updated the dx with dxwebsetup.
I've alrd did a dxdiag and it shows that the hardware acceleration is enabled.

It is so weird i've never been getting this error for a long time. All my games is working perfectly fine, FarCry 3, Guild Wars 2, League of Legends..and it never showed this error when i played it using crack..

I've alrd did a clean reinstall, update with 2.01,unofficial 2.02 patch and mount the image..All is fine until that error pops out -____- Any help would be deeply appreciated, me and my bro wanted to play this game for a long time T_T

Are you sure this error is related to this topic?Does it work with the original cd?

Posts: 1,845

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 14AllenVarden Dec 27 2012, 22:00 PM
QUOTE(TheShadowEffect @ Dec 27 2012, 21:15 PM) *

Are you sure this error is related to this topic?Does it work with the original cd?


No i dont have the original CD..its a pirated one..bought it like yrs ago..
The thing is i could play it with the crack and no dx error..but i couldnt play LAN with my bro
So i decided to try the mount file method..it doesnt show the plz insert cd blablabla instead it shows the dx error ~_~

Posts: 2


+
# 15TheShadowEffect Dec 28 2012, 01:31 AM
QUOTE(AllenVarden @ Dec 28 2012, 01:00 AM) *

No i dont have the original CD..its a pirated one..bought it like yrs ago..
The thing is i could play it with the crack and no dx error..but i couldnt play LAN with my bro
So i decided to try the mount file method..it doesnt show the plz insert cd blablabla instead it shows the dx error ~_~

My point is you should post this on tech support not here...Btw reistall directx and your gpu driver just to be sure.

Posts: 1,845

Game: Rise of the Witchking 2.01


+
# 16toadwing Jan 19 2013, 20:20 PM
QUOTE(Excalibur @ Dec 26 2012, 06:00 AM) *

If no one replies, that means it's working for them. Otherwise they would be here asking for help. tongue.gif

I am quite impressed though that no one bothered at least saying whether it worked or not.


It works great for me. Thanks for the guide and providing the files.

Posts: 37

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 17Excalibur Jan 19 2013, 21:52 PM
Enjoy my friend. Credits to TheShadowEffect as well. smile.gif

Posts: 9,556

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 18Elrohir Jan 23 2013, 15:17 PM
It isn't working for me. I can open the game and all but when I try to load one it stops at 30 % every time. Doesn't matter if it is online or single player sad.gif

Never mind. Oddly enough it seems to have sorted itself out smile.gif

This post has been edited by Elrohir: Jan 23 2013, 17:28 PM

Posts: 6,200

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 19xwitchkingx May 28 2013, 18:10 PM
I'm not good with computers and I am having trouble with downloading the no cd file. I've downloaded the file, put it into deamon tools and now what? If you guys can make a video that would be so helpful.

Posts: 90

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+
# 20xwitchkingx May 28 2013, 20:48 PM
QUOTE(xwitchkingx @ May 28 2013, 18:10 PM) *

I'm not good with computers and I am having trouble with downloading the no cd file. I've downloaded the file, put it into deamon tools and now what? If you guys can make a video that would be so helpful.


Never mind, I got it fixed

Posts: 90

Game: Rise of the Witch King


+

4 User(s) are reading this topic (4 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)